Skip to main content
Ormond Beach Observer Wednesday, Oct. 10, 2012 8 years ago

Teacher of the Year nominees announced by district


A reception for the winners will be held in November. The School Board also bought security cameras and OK’d an eighth-grade trip to Washington, D.C.


Volusia County Teacher of the Year nominees for 2014 have been selected from each of the 70 schools in the district, and Superintendent Margaret Smith announced Tuesday, Oct. 9, that a reception to honor each will be held 4:30 Thursday, Nov. 1, at Champion Elementary, in Daytona Beach.

A final winner will be announced in January. The current teacher of the year is Leslie Birney, a fourth-grade instructor in DeLand.

In Ormond Beach, some of the teachers nominated for the county prize are Kenneth O’Brien, of Pine Trail Elementary School, and Robert Campbell, of Ormond Beach Middle School. A more extensive sampling of the 70 teachers chosen from Volusia County schools are listed below.

A dedication ceremony for Ormond Beach Middle School will also be held 9:30 a.m. Wednesday, Oct. 24.

A ‘capitol’ idea

The Volusia County School Board unanimously approved an Ormond Beach Middle School field trip Tuesday, to Washington, D.C.

The trip is for 100 students and 10 chaperons, by bus, and will cost families $833 per student to attend. The trip has no fiscal impact on the district, however, but if any students’ families cannot afford the outing, scholarships will be offered, or substitute teachers will be hired.

The trip will take place March 16-21.

The camera eye

The School Board also unanimously approved a $47,837.49 purchase of security cameras to install in its data center.

Purchased through Security 101, of Altamonte Springs, installation of the cameras will improve infrastructure, while satisfying audit deficiencies from 2011, according to a district report.

The purchase was budgeted in the board’s 2012 capital fund.

The Teachers

A sampling of teachers selected as nominees for the 2014 Volusia County Teacher of the Year are listed as follows:

Jennifer Clayton (Mainland High School)

Lori Strasser (Ormond Beach Elementary)

Roberta Campbell (Ormond Beach Middle)

Megan Pellicer (Pathways Elementary)

Kenneth O’Brien (Pine Trail Elementary)

Aaron Goldstone (Seabreeze High School)

Dayna Williams (Spruce Creek Elementary)

Brent Rohol (Spruce Creek High)

Lianne Marie Whitson (Sugar Mill Elementary)

Amber Leahey McAndrew (Tomoka Elementary).

Mariana Bianco (Volusia Virtual-Online Learning).

For the full list, visit

Related Stories